Recipe Time: Southwest Frittata!

swfritatta

Ok, I know some have you have been waiting patiently for this, and I appreciate your understanding.  Life with me is hectic as always – planning yet another big move, and with everything in flux and without my own computer to work on, finding the time to sit down and write out a post – never mind taking and editing all the photos! – can be difficult, at best.  But I try not to get flustered at how long everything seems to take, and accept every morning that I probably won’t accomplish as much as I’d like in a day.  Not that I’m being defeatist, I just understand that I’m very over-ambitious and have an unrealistic sense of how long things should take.  I try to organize my day into two hour blocks of productivity, switching gears between sedentary and mobile tasks, but often manage to get caught up working on a project for way longer than its designated time slot.  Like today.  I spent a whole extra two hours reading articles and following links to educate myself.  Definitely not a waste of time, but limits how much I have left to get this post written.  So let me get on with it!

As most of you will come to know, I’m a total foodie.  My mother was a chef and restaurateur, and I grew up eating just about everything under the sun.  Well, everything we could grow or get at the local market, at least.  She was picky about name brand stuff, but unfortunately had a very 1950’s idea of health and nutrition.  Dinner was unwaveringly a meat, a starch and a veggie.  It varied in complexity from a roast chicken dinner with all the fixins to a pan of egg noodles with fried Spam and peas.  Crisco was a baking staple, and fresh bread a weekly treat.

While I miss my mothers’ rye boules like nothing else I’ve ever eaten, I have learned a lot about food and health in the last 15 years of study and have been slowly working my way towards a Paleo diet.  (I say towards, as I have my own ideas on human diet and evolution developed through years as an anthropology student, but I’ll save that for another time.)  To this end, I have converted many recipes to be gluten/grain free, incorporated tree nuts and other protein alternatives into recipes, and expanded my repertoire of raw food techniques.

Today’s post is about the Southwest Frittata I posted pics of a couple weeks back.  The recipe is very simple, and, like most of what I eat, was made up as I went, lol.  I am working on a cookbook of my favorite creations from over the years, but one that is less focused on the recipes than on the techniques.  I plan to include this recipe, so if you have any particular questions about the techniques used here, or ANY aspect of food or cooking, please feel free to ask!  I am always open to feedback as well. Yield 4 servings.

Ingredients:

1 c. cooked sweet potato, cubed ½”

1 c. cooked black beans

½ c. red onion, finely diced

½ c. red bell pepper, finely diced

½ c. sliced mushrooms

¼ c. black olives, chopped

4 ea. eggs

2 T. cold milk

1 c. shredded cheese (I like pepper jack)

2 T. fresh cilantro, chopped

2 T. scallions, chopped

1 T. jalapeño or serrano, minced

Salt and pepper, to taste

Olive oil

Method:

Preheat broiler to low.  (If no broiler, use oven at 400.)  Bring a medium (8-10”) oven-safe skillet to temp over med heat on your stovetop, adding enough cold oil to the pan AFTER it gets hot to coat the bottom well.  Place the sweet potato, beans, onion, bell pepper, mushrooms and black olives in the pan and sauté until the onion just pass a sweat and start to caramelize.

While the veggies cook, crack the 4 eggs into a bowl and add the milk, whisk until well-combined.  Stir in cilantro, scallions and chiles, season with salt and pepper.  When onion start to caramelize, pour egg mixture into the pan and DO NOT STIR.  Sprinkle immediately with the shredded cheese.  Allow to cook 3-4 minutes, until the bottom of the eggs start to brown.  Place the uncovered pan directly into the broiler or oven for another 8-10 minutes, until eggs are set in the middle.  (Test with a jiggle) Remove from oven and allow to cool for a couple minutes before serving.  Top each serving with a large spoon of salsa and a dollop of (the BEST sour cream substitute, ever) whole milk greek yogurt.  Garnish with fresh cilantro and/or scallions and enjoy!!

Please! Share your thoughts!

